Cover Layout by Erik Trauner & Klaus Moucka

LP : EMI Austria 7 96881-1
CD : MSC C7777033


  1. Aligator Walk
  2. Talkin´Woman Blues
  3. Wintertime Is Coming
  4. Louisiana Stroll (instrumental)
  5. Lonesome House
  6. Shame, Shame, Shame
  7. My Tiny Thing (instrumental)
  8. Burnt Child
  9. Rollin´And Squeezin´
  10. Black Silk
  11. Found A New Home - Take 1
  12. Blues In The Night (instrumental)
  13. Love You To Much
  14. My Old "Serenader" (instrumental)
  15. Down In The Alley
  16. Sleepless (instrumental)


Erik Trauner
vocals (1), slide guitar (2,4,5,7,9,10), rhythm guitar (3), solo guitar (6), lap steel guitar (11)
Christian Dozzler
piano (1,8,9), harmonica (2,7,10), accordion (1,4,6,7,11), vocals (6)
Markus Toyfl
rhythm guitar (2,4-7,9-11), guitar (1,8), 2nd guitar (3) Dani Gugolz bass (1-11)
Peter Müller
drums (1-11)
Gerhard Wessely

Produced by Hans Maitner & Erik Trauner. Recorded live at "Jazzland", Vienna


"This present LP originated in August 1989 during a three weeks stay of the Mojo Blues Band in Chicago, undoubtedly the blues metropol of the United States. Without actually having planned such a project the band decided on a spontaneous recording session.

Erik Trauner, Christian Dozzler, Markus Toyfl and Dani Gugolz experienced Chicago "live". They were invited to barbecues in the heart of the South Side, encountered living blues legends, had memorable wild jam-parties in the back yards of terrace- houses and spent long nights in black blues clubs.

Even though only little can still be heard of traditional blues in Chicago, the "Mojos" consistanly strayed in its persuit until they made the aquaintance of several musicians who may be the last of their kind.

The Mojo Blues Band invited such musicians as Willie Kent, A.C. Reed, Taildragger, Big 'Mojo' Elem and Timothy Taylor to their recording session at ACME-studios in Southport Street.

In a 16-hours-marathon recording session the different cultures, languages and mentalities melted into one another to become a friendly whole - all made possible by the common love of music. Inspiration for the title came from a gigantic gourmet fair, named "The Taste Of Chicago", presenting local restaurants and organized at the time by the City of Chicago.

Consequently, this LP can be regarded as an acoustic delicacy. Furthermore this record documents the first bridge between musicians of Chicago and Vienna in the history of the blues".

Pia A. Bauer/English translation by Gottfried Oehl